Va. Code § 55.1-1226: Virginia security deposit rules in plain English
What Va. Code § 55.1-1226 says about Virginia security deposits: the cap, the deadline to return the deposit, itemized deductions and interest. Every fact below comes from our statute-checked data. Last verified 2026-10-22.
Quick answer
- Return deadline
- 45 days
- Maximum deposit
- 2 months' periodic rent (security deposit however named). Security deposit plus damage-insurance and renter's-insurance premiums paid before the tenancy starts may not exceed 2 months' rent in total.
- Itemized list
- Yes, an itemized list of deductions is required
- Interest
- Not stated in our verified data
What Va. Code § 55.1-1226 says, as we verified it
Deposit limit
2 months' periodic rent (security deposit however named). Security deposit plus damage-insurance and renter's-insurance premiums paid before the tenancy starts may not exceed 2 months' rent in total.
Full citation: Va. Code §§ 55.1-1226(A), 55.1-1208(A)(7) Read the official text
Virginia deposit deadline calculatorAll Virginia tenant law rulesDeposit return deadline by stateDeposit statutes for every state
FAQ: Va. Code § 55.1-1226
How long does a landlord have to return a deposit under Va. Code § 55.1-1226?
Under Va. Code § 55.1-1226, a Virginia landlord has 45 days to return the security deposit or send an itemized list of deductions.
Is there a limit on the security deposit in Virginia?
2 months' periodic rent (security deposit however named). Security deposit plus damage-insurance and renter's-insurance premiums paid before the tenancy starts may not exceed 2 months' rent in total.
Does Virginia require an itemized list of deductions?
Yes, an itemized list of deductions is required. Citation: Va. Code §§ 55.1-1226(A), 55.1-1208(A)(7).
Does the landlord have to pay interest on the deposit in Virginia?
Not stated in our verified data.
Check your lease against Virginia law
Scan it free and see which clauses break these rules.
Scan my Virginia leaseGeneral information only, not legal advice. Last verified 2026-10-22. Laws change; verify with the linked source or a licensed attorney.